Why I don’t think Tomi Lahren’s “rant” is EPIC.

This video has been circulating the web since it aired Saturday on Tomi Lahren’s On Point with Tomi Lahren on One America News Network (OANN). I’ve seen more than a couple people share the video on social media, praising her for her words. The “rant”, which blasts the Obama administration for not recognizing the shooting in Chattanooga as an act of terror due to Radical Islam, is two minutes of unprofessional and overly subjective journalism. One of my close peers shared the video on Facebook today, praising her for speaking “truth”. She’s speaking her opinion, actually. Which is okay, but let’s have some professionalism and respect for the field, shall we?

As a journalism student, I strive to challenge most journalists I watch or read or listen to. “How could that segment have been better? Should she have said that? Could he have said that differently? Did they cover both sides? Did they respect both sides?”

“Do I care that his high school friends wouldn’t classify him as “overly religious”? No I don’t give a flying you know what about any of that…….I care that this SOB killed four of our United States Marines.”  – Tomi Lahren

No professional or respected news outlet or organization would allow their anchors to speak this way. No professional journalist would choose to come across this way. My opinion on Lahren’s rant has nothing to do with my personal opinion on the subject at hand. In fact, I agree that there should be a new, tougher strategy on targeting domestic terrorism and its link with radical Islam, because as Lahren says, what we are doing right now isn’t working and it is a huge threat to our country. I also happen to care a lot that such an evil person took the lives of four United States Marines and one United States Sailor. Five men were killed. Five men who were spending their lives defending this country. So yes, Tomi, I may have a different political ideology than you, but I also care.  My problem lies with the unprofessionalism she exudes. Lahren spends a decent amount of time talking about her personal connections to United States Marines and Navy Seals, including someone she knows currently deployed to the Middle East, as if no supporter of Obama could possibly have those connections or feel such a loss.

I too, know United States Marines. I too, know Navy Seals. I too, have had people close to me be deployed to the Middle East. Conservative or liberal, Christian or Muslim, black or white, we as Americans can all feel this as a loss. It is devastating. It is heartbreaking.

How about Lahren spends less time talking about how upset she is, and more about what she thinks could be done by administration to avoid this. Give me your ideas, Tomi. What do you think will work better? I’d love to hear it.

Tomi Lahren, have some respect for people, for our country’s administration, and for yourself. In an era where most people don’t take the news seriously to begin with, we don’t need journalists- let alone female journalists- like you, presenting people with biased, subjective, and unprofessional journalism. I am a journalism student because I don’t want people like you representing our generation of journalists. We have a chance to change the media for the better. It starts with us.

Leave a Reply

