A Step in the Right Direction: Away From Archbishop Cordileone

Abi Basch, a former teacher at my alma mater, Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory in San Francisco, announced her resignation. For more detailed information on the cause, read this article.

I never had the chance to be a student of Ms. Basch’s, but she accompanied me on my school trip to Washington D.C. my senior year. Although we didn’t create a significant bond over those 6 days, I could tell she was an intelligent, strong, and passionate leader. Her choice to resign in the face of discrimination in our community is commendable. Yes, I went to a Catholic high school. But what made my high school so great was how inclusive it was. The student body was so diverse; students of different races and sexualities and religious affiliations. And so was our faculty. Archbishop Cordileone has been the center of much controversy over his proposal that teachers working for the archdiocese would be referred to as “ministers” and held to strict moral standards in their personal lives that would abide by the church’s rules. Ms. Basch, among others won’t stand for that. And it is not because they are all against the church, or have no morals, or are all sinners.

I am proud to see people in my high school community making a stand against such absurd proposals. Discrimination and exclusivity do not belong in the hallways of Sacred Heart Cathedral Prep or any other Catholic high in San Francisco, and beyond. We accept and love all. Best of luck to Ms. Basch on her future endeavors.

Kassandra Ferrante // Class of 2013

Update (August 12, 2015): It has come to my attention that this post and my message was not clear. I LOVE the community I was raised in. I’ve been a student to Catholic education in San Francisco for 14 years. I was born and raised Catholic. And though my relationship with the church isn’t “perfect” by biblical standards, I am proud to have come from such an inclusive and loving community. I happen to disagree with the moral code that Archbishop Cordileone has suggested, but by no means am I putting down the Catholic Church for its teaching. I think there is work that needs to be done to progress with the world, but I understand and respect the teachings of the church. I know that I, nor anyone can change them. This was solely an opinion piece about how strongly I feel towards this proposal, and I am not alone. Follow the movement. #TeachAcceptance

One thought on “A Step in the Right Direction: Away From Archbishop Cordileone

Leave a Reply

