Ready or not, here I come.

The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page.               – Saint Augustine

The night before leaving on a trip or going back to school is always exciting and filled with anxiety. This time, it’s just a little different. I’m not just going on a weekend getaway or a two-week vacation with my family and friends. I’m not just returning to school in San Diego for another semester where I am comfortable, and if I’m missing something or craving a burrito I can literally walk across the street and my problems are easily solved- I’m heading off to Rome for 4 months. I don’t really know what to expect, except to expect the unexpected. This has been a dream of mine for years and am blessed to have an opportunity like this that will allow me to travel, see new places, meet new people, and experience a new world. Essentially, my whole life up until this point has prepared me for this moment. This isn’t a one hour plane ride to SoCal where after class we run over to the beach for smoothies and tanning. This won’t be the SDSU campus that I’ve become far too familiar with. This isn’t an apartment with my best friends that know way too much about me. This is unknown. This is Rome. This is Europe. And whether or not I am truly prepared for this moment, my flight leaves in 9 hours. Ready or not, here I come. 

Credit for the image featured: http://www.global-gallivanting.com/going-to-rome/

One thought on “Ready or not, here I come.

  1. ustruly says:

    I am SO jealous!!! I went to Rome last summer, but was only there for two days. It wasn’t nearly enough time. I would absolutely love to do a semester abroad. Go to Florence if you ever have a spare weekend, it’s absolutely amazing. I’m so excited for you! Have so much fun and eat gelato like crazy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

