My first week in Rome.

Well, kinda. Day 6 in Rome and I am quickly beginning to understand why the study abroad experience is so important. This has been an amazing six days (arguably the best six days I’ve had in awhile). Besides the heat that nearly melts me 24 hours a day, Rome is a beautiful city with so much to see that it can be overwhelming. I have 4 months here and I almost feel like I won’t see it all. Since I landed, I still haven’t gotten a full night of sleep. When in Rome, right?

IMG_2596 IMG_2598

IMG_2644

The team in Campo de ‘Fiori the other night.

I’ve been lucky enough to make some amazing friends really quickly here in Rome. The scariest part of coming into this experience alone was wondering if I would find friends to travel and explore with. But luckily, most people coming into this experience felt the same way, and it made me put myself forward as much as possible. Most of the friends I’ve made live in my building and even across the hall from my apartment, and it’s been way too much fun already.

I’ve managed to find an amazing group of people who are up for having fun, traveling, and tackling this semester together. We’ve been doing nights on the Tiber River for Teverestate, which unfortunately ended tonight. Food and bar tents have been set up all along the Tiber River during August and it’s been an amazing way to start nights out.

Most of my week so far has been consumed by orientation activities, tours of the campus and train stations, and trying to find a comfortable pair of walking shoes. DCIM100GOPROTherefore not too much sightseeing has been done quite yet. But the other day while shopping on Via del Corso we took a little detour to see the Pantheon (woah) and today I finally got a chance to go into the Colosseum. It was absolutely amazing to be inside.

DCIM100GOPRO

Emily and I inside the Colosseum earlier today!

IMG_2713

Me looking out into the abyss that is the Colosseum.

Rome is an enchanting place. The cobblestone has quickly torn up my feet and run down my shoes. The graffiti adds a bit of color to the tiny streets of Trastevere. The shitty service at restaurants is actually kind of charming once the food comes out (mainly because you forget once you have the pasta). And the history and art on every corner is amazing. I am so blessed to be here and I hope to make the most of every second.

School starts tomorrow, so the late nights exploring Rome and having way too much fun might have to stall for a couple days. I almost forgot after 6 days here that I actually came to go to school and take classes for my major, and study! It’s easy to get side tracked when you’re living in the most beautiful city in the world.

On the bright side, it’s just the beginning. I’m currently in the midst of preparing a trip to Lucca, Pisa, and Florence, and I’ve got upcoming trips booked to the Amalfi Coast, Munich for Oktoberfest, and Amsterdam in October. Only 15 more weeks to go. This is gonna be fun.

xoxo

IMG_2772

3 thoughts on “My first week in Rome.

Leave a Reply

