What the hell am I saying?

“Wow, there just aren’t enough weekends this semester to go where we want!”

This phrase has been uttered by most of my friends here in Rome the last few weeks. Most of us study abroad kids are in the process of booking weekend trips to other cities in Europe. Conversations vary from “I found the cheapest roundtrip flight to London!” to “Crap, should we do Barcelona or Budapest that weekend?” Me? I’ll be heading to a few awesome cities in Europe this semester. And yet, I’ve somehow found the audacity to say something as stupid as, “Wow this sucks. I just don’t have enough weekends to travel.” Yes, a semester abroad is a great opportunity to explore new places and see new things. It’s encouraged by most (though in my case, I am very eager to make every second count in Rome- I’m living in one of the greatest cities in the world, and I’m not going to miss out on that). And logistically speaking, it’s pretty cheap to travel around Europe and book accommodations through airbnb or hostels with your friends. It is not a crazy idea to take a weekend adventure somewhere new, while continuing to explore all Rome has to offer during the week. My planner, in fact, is a colorful swirl of arrows and details outlining almost every upcoming travel weekend.

But just a minute ago, as I was filling in my planner with all my new booking information, I realized that I am crazy for saying that phrase. I’ve been in Rome for exactly two weeks, and I’ve already had the opportunity to see Florence, Lucca, and Pisa, three great cities in Italy. I have amazing trips planned, such as the Amalfi Coast in two days, and Oktoberfest in Munich next weekend. I have been given the opportunity to travel and live out a dream of mine that I really didn’t know if I was going to be able to have. The way I see it, I’ll be back to Europe someday (sooner rather than later, I hope). What I don’t cross off my list in the next four months, will be crossed off in the next few years, and I will promise myself that.

So next time I say, “Damn, I just don’t have enough weekends here”, please slap me. 

Leave a Reply

