Blessed Is an Understatement

It doesn’t take a brain surgeon to understand that I am very blessed to be in Rome. For me, it’s the little things. The tiny, narrow, cobblestone streets, the cars that almost hit you, the vines hanging across medieval buildings, the shitty service, and the delicious wine. Sure, the Colosseum is great, the Trevi Fountain will make your jaw drop, and the Vatican is a piece of art. The pasta, the pizza, the wine. It’s all great. But the little things, the things I see everyday going to school, each time I trip on the streets that aren’t paved, every time I stop for gelato even though I say I shouldn’t. That’s why I love Rome. It isn’t the tourist attractions, it’s living in Rome and taking the tram home at night and trying to keep your balance on roads that haven’t been paved since the 15th century.

Tonight I was sitting outside of a little restaurant, having a drink with my friend Emily. We grabbed some drinks and a cheese platter (if that’s not a blessing, I don’t know what is), and sat, and talked, and watched, as Vespas hurried by and groups of kids were going out starting their night. It’s in simple moments like that, which seem straight out of a movie, when I remind myself of just how lucky I am.

It’s an early night tonight. I’m gonna be up at 4 am to catch a flight to Amsterdam, the city I’ve been dreaming of seeing since I knew I was coming abroad. Blessed is an understatement. 

Leave a Reply

