Don’t hold on to your mistakes.

It’s okay to make mistakes. Recently, I went against my better judgement and did something that I can’t say I’m proud of. I let whatever I was feeling at the moment take over and blur what I knew was wrong. I let it eat at me for days. However, I reassure myself that the past is the past, what is done is done, and all there is left to do is grow from it. I realize that we all make mistakes, some more drastic than others. The feelings that I feel now, regret, stupidity, and pain, make me confident that I’ll never make a mistake like that again. I’ve come to believe that we make mistakes (sometimes over and over again) in order to finally come to terms with who we are. Mistakes are an opportunity for growth, forgiveness, and hope.

This is how we learn. About life, the world, other people, and most importantly, ourselves.

I’ve always said that everyone who comes into your life, whether for a day or for several years, can either be a blessing or a lesson. Some happen to be both, and to let those people go can be the hardest thing in the world. Luckily, I can say that I don’t regretting letting anyone into my life, nor am I feeling any remorse for letting them go. 2016, the year of growth.

Leave a Reply

