Celebrate Progress

My workout routine has been a little off recently, with school and work piling up. And the days that I have gotten a workout in, I have greatly avoided the one and only- cardio.

But tonight, I decided to look that demon in the eyes when I was deciding on a warmup. So I ran a mile.

To many, a mile is measly. But looking back at where I started a year ago, running a mile without taking a breather shows how far I’ve come. I used to be proud of myself for making it to .5 miles with my heart pounding, nearly falling to the floor.

It’s okay to take a few steps back. We’ve all been there, but confidence at the gym is so important and fundamental to success. Though I haven’t been taking the gym and dieting as seriously as I should have for the last few weeks, that 1 mile reminder tonight was the push I needed to kickstart what I’ve been wanting to do for so long. Don’t punish yourself over what you could have done- celebrate where you have gotten so far.

4 thoughts on “Celebrate Progress

  1. Bob Rutledge says:

    The best way to improve your running is to find a running buddy who is at your level. Then you can push each other and have fun while doing it. I used to run, and having running friends always helped me to improve, even if it got competitive, as it did at times.

    Like

  2. Thehungryballer says:

    Exactly ! Reading this post feels as if its my story ! To start with, I manage a puny 12 push-ups now…..4-5 months back, my hands gave up at 5 ! And though I’m striving for more, I cherish this tiny progress too.
    Great post..thank you for posting !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

