What’s your definition of progress?

Last summer, I shared this picture with you all on my blog and other social media outlets. It wasn’t easy, but I was proud of the significant progress I had made with my body.

IMG_1540.JPG

After that, I went abroad. I lived in the land of pasta, bread, and cheese, and in addition to the nonexistent exercise (unless you consider the walk to and from the bar every night…), the progress I felt like I had made disappeared.

Fast forward to January. I returned to San Diego, eager to get back in shape, eat right, and feel as good as I did pre-study abroad. And I did- for about three weeks. Then school started, I got a job, and suddenly I was either on campus all day, or running to work at the mall, eating whatever unhealthy snacks I could find. Finally, I started to convince myself to actually go grocery shopping, and find time for the gym as often as I could (and not beat myself up for not going everyday).

Though I haven’t been perfect, I’m on track to be in a good place. Since March 2014 (a little over two years ago), I’ve lost over 30 pounds. Since coming back from abroad, I fit into my clothes better and feel more confident everyday. I’m insanely proud of this accomplishment and know that I can continue to improve my body and ultimately feel better about myself. An important factor is not putting myself down if I have a not so healthy day. Today, for example, I did pretty well, but ate half a bag of chips (quinoa tortilla chips aren’t horrible though, right??) and skipped the gym. Remind yourself it’s okay to treat yo-self, just to always be aware of what you’re putting in your body and take note the next day at the gym.

Here are some progress pictures from early March into this week. The changes are small, but progress and improvement won’t happen over night (bottom left is the most recent).

IMG_7593.JPG IMG_7733.JPGIMG_7836.JPG

Each day I am feeling better about myself and I’m excited to see what I can accomplish before my birthday and in my 21st year (weeeee!). This is my definition of progress. What’s yours?

Follow me for the journey.

xoxo, Kass

 

4 thoughts on “What’s your definition of progress?

Leave a Reply

