Why the scale means nothing.

Last week, I weighed myself for the first time since January. I wished the number would have been lower, but it was still an improvement and I did not feel discouraged. The next time I weighed myself, two days later, the number was lower, and I was excited.

And the two days after that consisted of not-so-healthy eating (s’mores cake is so good though) and skipping the gym.

So today when I weighed myself after a great workout, the number was higher than I had hoped (A pound heavier than the original weight last week) and instantly felt upset that I had let myself fall off track.

R E M I N D E R 

Do not fret! Body weight can fluctuate up to five pounds within a day! According to Women’s Health, “Your hydration level, exercise, bathroom habits, and exactly what you’ve had to eat that day” can affect weight gain throughout the day. In fact, after doing some research I learned that it’s actually quite difficult to truly “gain weight” overnight. Check out this article to learn more.

So even though I like keeping track of the number on the scale, I think I’m going to do a weekly weigh-in to see my progress. I’ve learned that weighing yourself every day or every other day can be inaccurate and more importantly, demoralizing and detrimental to your mentality. However, now I’m motivated to eat clean, get my workouts in, and drink tons of water (even though it will add water weight) for the next few weeks! At the end of the day, all that matters is that YOU feel confident, happy, and healthy!

Keep your head up, babes.

Leave a Reply

